Ellen G. White Writings

<< Back Forward >>

From Eternity Past, Table of Contents

Why You Should Read This Book 5
Contents 7
Chapter 1—Why Was Sin Permitted? 9
Chapter 2—Creation: God's Answer to Evolution 16
Chapter 3—The Predicament of Our First Parents 22
Chapter 4—The Plan of Redemption Is Unveiled 31
Chapter 5—The First Murderer and His Victim 37
Chapter 6—Seth: When Men Turned to God 43
Chapter 7—When the World Was Destroyed by Water 51
Chapter 8—After the Flood, a New Beginning 61
Chapter 9—The Beginning of the Literal Week 65
Chapter 10—When Languages Were Changed 69
Chapter 11—Abraham, the Father of All Believers 74
Chapter 12—Abraham, a Good Neighbor in Canaan 79
Chapter 13—The Offering of Isaac: Test of Faith 89
Chapter 14—The Sin of Sodom and Gomorrah 98
Chapter 15—Isaac's Marriage: The Happiest in the Bible 107
Chapter 16—Jacob and Esau 113
Chapter 17—Jacob's Flight and Exile 119
Chapter 18—Jacob's Terrible Night of Wrestling 127
Chapter 19—Jacob Comes Home 133
Chapter 20—The Amazing Story of Joseph 141
Chapter 21—Joseph and His Brothers 149
Chapter 22—Moses, the Leader of God's People 165
Chapter 23—The Ten Plagues of Egypt 176
Chapter 24—The First Passover 189
Chapter 25—The Israelites Leave Egypt 194
Chapter 26—Israel Meets With Difficulties 200
Chapter 27—God Gives His Law on Mount Sinai 209
Chapter 28—Israel Worships a Golden Calf 219
Chapter 29—Satan's Hatred of God's Law 231
Chapter 30—The Sanctuary: God's Dwelling Place in Israel 239
Chapter 31—The Sin of Nadab and Abihu 251
Chapter 32—The Grace of Christ and the New Covenant 254
Chapter 33—The Terrible Murmurings of God's People 262
Chapter 34—Twelve Spies Survey Canaan 270
Chapter 35—Korah Leads a Rebellion 277
Chapter 36—Forty Years of Wandering in the Wilderness 285
Chapter 37—Moses Fails on the Border of Canaan 289
Chapter 38—Why the Long Journey Around Edom 295
Chapter 39—The Conquest of Bashan 304
Chapter 40—Balaam Tries to Curse Israel 309
Chapter 41—How Balaam Led Israel Into Sin 320
Chapter 42—God Teaches His Law to a New Generation 327
Chapter 43—The Death of Moses 333
Chapter 44—Crossing the Jordan 341
Chapter 45—The Miraculous Fall of Jericho 346
Chapter 46—The Blessings and the Curses 355
Chapter 47—A Canaanite Tribe Deceives Israel 358
Chapter 48—Home at Last 363
Chapter 49—The Last Words of Joshua 373
Chapter 50—The Blessing of Tithes and Offerings 377
Chapter 51—God's Care for the Economically Disadvantaged 380
Chapter 52—Annual Feasts of Rejoicing 386
Chapter 53—The Judges, Deliverers of Israel 391
Chapter 54—Samson, the Strongest Yet Weakest Man 403
Chapter 55—God Calls the Child Samuel 411
Chapter 56—Eli and His Wicked Sons 416
Chapter 57—Punishment: The Ark Taken 421
Chapter 58—The Schools of the Prophets 431
Chapter 59—Saul, the First King of Israel 437
Chapter 60—Saul Makes a Terrible Mistake 447
Chapter 61—Saul Rejected as King 455
Chapter 62—David Anointed as King 462
Chapter 63—David Kills Goliath 466
Chapter 64—David Flees 471
Chapter 65—The Largeheartedness of David 480
Chapter 66—Saul Takes His Own Life 490
Chapter 67—Ancient and Modern Spiritualism 495
Chapter 68—David's Heavy Trial 500
Chapter 69—David at Last Crowned King 506
Chapter 70—The Prosperous Reign of David 510
Chapter 71—David's Sin of Adultery and His Repentance 520
Chapter 72—The Rebellion of Absalom, David's Son 528
Chapter 73—A Man After God's Own Heart 542
Appendix 549