Ellen G. White Writings

<< Back Forward >>

Patriarchs and Prophets, Table of Contents

Preface 17
Introduction 19
Contents 29
Chapter 1—Why was Sin Permitted? 33
Chapter 2—The Creation 44
Chapter 3—The Temptation and Fall 52
Chapter 4—The Plan of Redemption 63
Chapter 5—Cain and Abel Tested 71
Chapter 6—Seth and Enoch 80
Chapter 7—The Flood 90
Chapter 8—After the Flood 105
Chapter 9—The Literal Week 111
Chapter 10—The Tower of Babel 117
Chapter 11—The Call of Abraham 125
Chapter 12—Abraham in Canaan 132
Chapter 13—The Test of Faith 145
Chapter 14—Destruction of Sodom 156
Chapter 15—The Marriage of Isaac 171
Chapter 16—Jacob and Esau 177
Chapter 17—Jacob's Flight and Exile 183
Chapter 18—The Night of Wrestling 195
Chapter 19—The Return to Canaan 204
Chapter 20—Joseph in Egypt 213
Chapter 21—Joseph and His Brothers 224
Chapter 22—Moses 241
Chapter 23—The Plagues of Egypt 257
Chapter 24—The Passover 273
Chapter 25—The Exodus 281
Chapter 26—From the Red Sea to Sinai 291
Chapter 27—The Law Given to Israel 303
Chapter 28—Idolatry at Sinai 315
Chapter 29—Satan's Enmity Against the Law 331
Chapter 30—The Tabernacle and Its Services 343
Chapter 31—The Sin of Nadab and Abihu 359
Chapter 32—The Law and the Covenants 363
Chapter 33—From Sinai to Kadesh 374
Chapter 34—The Twelve Spies 387
Chapter 35—The Rebellion of Korah 395
Chapter 36—In the Wilderness 406
Chapter 37—The Smitten Rock 411
Chapter 38—The Journey Around Edom 422
Chapter 39—The Conquest of Bashan 433
Chapter 40—Balaam 438
Chapter 41—Apostasy at the Jordan 453
Chapter 42—The Law Repeated 462
Chapter 43—The Death of Moses 469
Chapter 44—Crossing the Jordan 481
Chapter 45—The Fall of Jericho 487
Chapter 46—The Blessings and the Curses 499
Chapter 47—League With the Gibeonites 505
Chapter 48—The Division of Canaan 510
Chapter 49—The Last Words of Joshua 521
Chapter 50—Tithes and Offerings 525
Chapter 51—God's Care for the Poor 530
Chapter 52—The Annual Feasts 537
Chapter 53—The Earlier Judges 543
Chapter 54—Samson 560
Chapter 55—The Child Samuel 569
Chapter 56—Eli and His Sons 575
Chapter 57—The Ark Taken by the Philistines 581
Chapter 58—The Schools of the Prophets 592
Chapter 59—The First King of Israel 603
Chapter 60—The Presumption of Saul 616
Chapter 61—Saul Rejected 627
Chapter 62—The Anointing of David 637
Chapter 63—David and Goliath 643
Chapter 64—David a Fugitive 649
Chapter 65—The Magnanimity of David 660
Chapter 66—The Death of Saul 675
Chapter 67—Ancient and Modern Sorcery 683
Chapter 68—David at Ziklag 690
Chapter 69—David Called to the Throne 697
Chapter 70—The Reign of David 703
Chapter 71—David's Sin and Repentance 717
Chapter 72—The Rebellion of Absalom 727
Chapter 73—The Last Years of David 746
Appendix 757